Car insurance is mandatory in Connecticut. Understanding the type of coverage needed to meet the minimum limits will prevent you from receiving fines and other penalties. Below is everything you need to know about Connecticut car insurance and driving safety.
Average cost of car insurance in Connecticut
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) lists the average annual car insurance expenditure in Connecticut as $1,011.27.
They broke this figure down to:
$635.62 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$347.07 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$126.34 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Connecticut
Insurance premiums for young drivers in Connecticut widely vary due to several factors, one of which is coverage levels. Our study found that a young driver can pay an average of:
- $1745 for state minimum coverage1,
- $3074 for basic full coverage2 and
- $4404 for premium full coverage3.
How much young drivers would pay for premiums also depends on which city they live in. Our research discovered that those who live in Dansbury, with a population of 80,893 (2010, latest data4), have the lowest insurance expenditures. Read on to learn more about our methodology5.
Female Drivers in Connecticut
Our case study revealed that a 35-year-old female driver has the potential of paying less than half than young drivers. The average cost of car insurance premiums for female drivers are:
- $786 for state minimum coverage,
- $1440 for basic full coverage and
- $2074 for premium full coverage.
There are many reasons female motorists enjoy lower rates. Historically, women proved that they have a lower likelihood of getting into an accident, making them low-risk drivers. Thus, insurers charge them cheaper premiums.
Senior Drivers in Connecticut
To determine the premiums of senior drivers, we used the data on a senior male driver aged 68 and with a driving experience of 45 years. We found out that senior drivers can expect to pay:
- $767 for state minimum coverage,
- $1394 for basic full coverage and
- $2001 for premium full coverage.
The lowest possible cost of auto insurance for senior motorists in CT is about $39.00 a month under Geico, $46.00 under StateFarm, and $72 under Progressive.
Minimum car insurance requirements
Liability car insurance is the minimum form of coverage required in Connecticut.
Your liability coverage must cover at least $20,000/$40,000 for bodily injury/death per accident with an additional $10,000 for property damage per accident.
Most insurance providers in Connecticut offer additional coverage options. These include collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, rental car coverage, and emergency road coverage.
It’s generally a smart idea to invest in this additional coverage. In fact, Connecticut banks require you to buy both collision and comprehensive coverage if you bought your car with a loan agreement.
It’s also essential to note that Connecticut is not a no-fault state. Only the person responsible for the accident (and their insurance provider) are required to cover any damages.
Violations and penalties
If you don’t have proof of current car insurance during a traffic stop or in the event of an accident, you’ll face serious penalties in Connecticut.
Simply failing to carry proof of insurance (even if you do have insurance) will result in a $35 fine for your first offense. Each subsequent offense will result in a $50 fine and a mandatory court appearance.
Driving without any car insurance has much more serious penalties. The car owner receives a $500 fine and the driver at the time of the ticket receives an additional $100 to $1,000 fine.
Those caught driving without car insurance could also face up to 3 months of jail time, though this is usually covered by the fine. Your license will also be suspended until you provide proof that you bought car insurance.
Driving safety in Connecticut
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found that 81% of drivers and front-seat passengers in Colorado wear their seatbelts compared to the 86% national average.
According to the National Highway Safety Administration, there were 546 total driving fatalities in 2015. Among those, 151 were caused by alcohol impaired driving. That’s 28% of the total.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention put out another study which claims that Colorado’s total vehicle occupant death rate is 5.8 per 100,000 residents.
All licensed drivers in Connecticut are required to maintain car insurance and provide proof of this insurance after traffic stops and accidents. Though carrying the minimum in liability insurance is the easiest way to do this, it’s often a smart idea to invest in more robust coverage for greater financial protection.
|1||State minimum coverage includes the minimum liability insurance limits required in your state but excludes the following:
|2||Basic full coverage includes:
|3||Premium full coverage includes:
|4||Latest data: The U.S. census is conducted every 10 years as per requirement of the United States Constitution. The 23rd edition and the latest data is the 2010 United States Census. Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_United_States_Census|
|5||Methodology: To achieve accurate results we obtained estimates for 10 cities in the state: 5 of the largest cities and 5 randomly picked smaller cities. For each city, we collected premiums for 3 levels of coverage: state minimum coverage, basic full coverage and premium full coverage. We used 3 different driver profiles for the case studies. For the young driver profile we used a 20-year-old single male or female with 1 year driving experience. Second, the profile fit that of a 35-year-old married female with 12 years of driving experience. The last profile we used in our studies is a male senior driver who was 68-year-old with 45 years of driving experience. The vehicle we used for all three driver profiles was a 2012 Honda Accord EX.|