All car owners in the State of Michigan have to carry an automobile insurance policy, as the law requires them. However, you should consider it more as an investment rather than just another expense, as it will protect you from financial liabilities in the event you find yourself involved in a road accident. To make certain you comply with the Michigan car insurance laws, here are the most important facts you need to know about them.
Average cost of car insurance in Michigan
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claim that the average person pays roughly $1,131.40 for car insurance in Michigan each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$742.31 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$377.45 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$144.45 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Michigan
Our case study shows that in the Great Lakes State, young drivers can an average of:
- $3377.6 for state minimum coverage1,
- $5377.6 for basic full coverage2 and
- $6738 for premium full coverage3.
One of the major reasons behind these high insurance costs is because insurance companies regard young drivers as high-risk. Historically, inexperienced motorists have caused the greatest number of road accidents. You can still cut back on your premiums though, once you have showed your insurer you drive safely and prudently.
Female Drivers in Michigan
Our study found that a female driver can expect her premiums to have the following annual averages:
- $1771.2 for state minimum coverage,
- $2684.8 for basic full coverage and
- $3295.6 for premium full coverage.
Based on our methodology4, we found that for state minimum coverage, women in Michigan pay $1,606.40 less than male motorists aged 20. They also pay $2,692.80 less for basic full and $3,442.40 less for premium full.
Senior Drivers in Michigan
The results of our research show that senior drivers can expect these following yearly premium averages:
- $1772.8 for state minimum coverage,
- $2531.6 for basic full coverage and
- $3073.6 for premium full coverage.
Motorists falling under this category can find a monthly coverage for as low as $98. Based on the results of our study, we found that Grand Rapids, with an estimated population of 195,097 (2015, latest data5) offers the lowest possible monthly insurance cost of about $61.
Minimum car insurance requirements
Michigan is one of the 12 states in the country implementing the no-fault car insurance laws. When you purchase a no-fault auto insurance program, it will comprise of three different coverage types, namely: Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage, property protection coverage, and residual bodily injury/property damage liability insurance.
The PIP portion of your policy will cover you for medical or hospital expenses brought about by injuries you may sustain after getting involved in a traffic accident. In the event that your injuries hinder you from going to work, this will also provide up to 85 per cent coverage of what you usually earn. It does have a limit of $5,392 monthly for up to three years, though.
The second coverage Michigan state law requires you to have in your motor vehicle insurance policy is Property Protection (PPI). This covers up to $1 million worth of property damage you caused to the property of other people. It does not cover the damages brought upon to another person’s car (mobile) in an accident though.
Last but not the least is the residual bodily injury/property damage liability insurance. The state’s law requirements here serve as a barrier for the insured person against legal liabilities, with a few exceptions. For instance, the accident you caused resulted in someone sustaining severe injuries or a person dying; or the accident involves a non-Michigan resident operating a non-Michigan-registered automobile. You need to meet the following minimum requirements: $20,000 for injuries to an individual (including fatalities); $40,000 for injures per accident to more than one person (including deaths); and $10,000 for property damage (for accidents wherein the other involved parties do not live in the state).
Collision car insurance, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured driver coverage, towing and labor coverage, as well as rental car coverage are also available add-ons in policies in the state.
Violations and penalties
Violating the strict Michigan car insurance laws will result in serious penalties. These usually take the form of fines and suspensions.
When the authorities determine you do not have car insurance, you can expect to pay around $200 to $500. They may also imprison you for up to a year. Your license will remain suspended for up to 30 days, or unless you provide proof you already purchased insurance. To reinstate your license, a fee of $25 dollars applies.
Driving safety in Michigan
As Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) cited, 94% of drivers and front-seat passengers wear seatbelts in Michigan. This is higher than the national average of 86%.
The National Highway Safety Administration also stated that 963 driving fatalities took place in MI in 2015. 267 of them (28%) were caused by drivers under the influence of alcohol.
This number puts the total vehicle occupant death rate in the state at 6.2 per 100,000 residents, as CDC further reports.
Although you already know you should drive as safely as possible, accidents can still happen no matter what. However, you don’t have to worry about hefty after-accident expenses, as long as you comply with the Michigan car insurance state laws.
|1||State minimum coverage includes the minimum liability insurance limits required in your state but excludes the following:
|2||Basic full coverage includes:
|3||Premium full coverage includes:
|4||Methodology: To achieve accurate results we obtained estimates for 10 cities in the state: 5 of the largest cities and 5 randomly picked smaller cities. For each city, we collected premiums for 3 levels of coverage: state minimum coverage, basic full coverage and premium full coverage. We used 3 different driver profiles for the case studies. For the young driver profile we used a 20-year-old single male or female with 1 year driving experience. Second, the profile fit that of a 35-year-old married female with 12 years of driving experience. The last profile we used in our studies is a male senior driver who was 68-year-old with 45 years of driving experience. The vehicle we used for all three driver profiles was a 2012 Honda Accord EX.|
|5||Latest data: The U.S. census is conducted every 10 years as per requirement of the United States Constitution. The 23rd edition and the latest data is the 2010 United States Census. Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_United_States_Census|