In the State of Ohio, you need to comply with laws surrounding automotive insurance. From a legal point of view, it protects you from financial liabilities in the event that you get involved in a road traffic accident. From a motorist’s perspective though, it provides a way to comply with all the state regulations, which means avoiding motor-vehicle insurance-related penalties and violations.
Average cost of car insurance in Ohio
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claim that the average person pays roughly $659.37 for car insurance in Ohio each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$374.53 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$251.13 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$113.02 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Ohio
We discovered that a young driver in the Buckeye State can have the following yearly auto insurance premium averages:
- $989.2 for state minimum coverage1,
- $1718.4 for basic full coverage2 and
- $2412 for premium full coverage3.
Car insurance costs greatly depends on how high or low a risk of a driver is. Because generally, insurance companies regard new and teen motorists as high risk, this specific group pay more than female and senior drivers. There are ways to reduce costs though, such as successfully completing driver’s education and choosing a car with better safety features. Having good academic performance also helps lower expenditures.
Female Drivers in Ohio
A female driver in OH meeting the criteria of our methodology4 (explained below in detail) can expect these premium averages:
- $480 for state minimum coverage,
- $777.6 for basic full coverage and
- $1045.2 for premium full coverage.
Statistics show that women are less likely to be involved in road traffic accidents or commit driving mistakes and violations. These are two of the biggest reasons why their insurance costs less than young drivers.
Senior Drivers in Ohio
Our study showed that on average, senior drivers spend less towards their premiums than young and female motorists. Older adults can expect to pay an average of:
- $469.6 for state minimum coverage,
- $698 for basic full coverage and
- $928.4 for premium full coverage.
The bigger your city of residence is, the better your premiums. For instance, Canton City, Canton-Massillon’s biggest incorporated area, with an estimated population of 71,885 (2015, latest data5), offers its senior drivers with a premium of as low as $32/month.
Minimum car insurance requirements
To prevent out-of-pocket expenses as well as continue being a law-abiding citizen in the State of Ohio, you should invest in an insurance policy. The best way to remain in compliance with the state laws is to purchase one that contains liability coverage.
With this type of coverage, you can rely on financial assistance from your insurer when it comes to paying for expenses incurred due to bodily injuries or property damage you have caused. Make sure that you have these sufficient minimums in your policy: $25,000 coverage for bodily injury/person/accident (including fatalities), $50,000 coverage for total bodily injury (or death)/accident (in the event that more than one victim is involved), and $25,000 coverage for property damage/accident.
Although the state only required all motorists to carry liability insurance, you should still take a much closer look at the other options you have. Consider getting even just the minimums for these non-mandatory, yet useful coverage types: collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured coverage, as well as towing and labor coverage.
Violations and Penalties
When caught driving without the minimum required car insurance coverage, you can expect the authorities to pass judgement on you in the form of violations.
For your first offense, you will have your license suspended until you show proof you already met the state’s auto insurance requirements. The authorities will also suspend your registration and impound your motor vehicle’s plates. You can get them back through showing proof of insurance and making the following payments: a $100 reinstatement fee, a $50 compliance fee (may be lower), and a $10 registrar service fee.
A second violation within a period of five years will result in the suspension of your registration for one year (limited driving privileges may apply). You also have to satisfy the reinstatement requirements similar to those with a first offense, however, the reinstatement fee goes up to $300.
A third violation within a period of five years will lead to a 2-year period of registration suspension. You would also have to pay the $600 reinstatement fee.
Driving safety in Ohio
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) released the results of a study about restrain use in Ohio. Only 82% of motorists and front-seat passengers use them, as opposed to the national average of 86%.
1,110 driving fatalities occurred in the state in 2015, as what the National Highway Safety Administration cited. 313 cases (28%) were due to alcohol impaired driving.
The CDC then gave OH a vehicle occupant death rating of 6.9 per 100,000 residents.
As you can see, there are plenty of good reasons as to why you should not treat Ohio car insurance lightly. Of course, you want to remain on the good side of the law, but you should also look at the bigger picture. Causing a road accident, whether intentional or accidental, will result in you having to pay for expenses out of your own pocket when you don’t have the mandatory policy.
|1||State minimum coverage includes the minimum liability insurance limits required in your state but excludes the following:
|2||Basic full coverage includes:
|3||Premium full coverage includes:
|4||Methodology: To achieve accurate results we obtained estimates for 10 cities in the state: 5 of the largest cities and 5 randomly picked smaller cities. For each city, we collected premiums for 3 levels of coverage: state minimum coverage, basic full coverage and premium full coverage. We used 3 different driver profiles for the case studies. For the young driver profile we used a 20-year-old single male or female with 1 year driving experience. Second, the profile fit that of a 35-year-old married female with 12 years of driving experience. The last profile we used in our studies is a male senior driver who was 68-year-old with 45 years of driving experience. The vehicle we used for all three driver profiles was a 2012 Honda Accord EX.|
|5||Latest data: The U.S. census is conducted every 10 years as per requirement of the United States Constitution. The 23rd edition and the latest data is the 2010 United States Census. Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_United_States_Census|