Average cost of car insurance in Delaware
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) shows that the average expenditure for car insurance in Delaware is $1,101.12.
They broke this figure down to:
$783.30 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$291.67 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$112.21 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Delaware
Based on the results of our case study, we determined that young drivers in DE can expect the following possible premium averages:
- $1610 for state minimum coverage1,
- $2737 for basic full coverage2 and
- $3709 for premium full coverage3.
Upgrading to the basic full or the premium full coverage will raise the premiums by $1,127.20 and $2,099.20 respectively, but it’ll also provide greater protection.
Female Drivers in Delaware
Because historically and up to now, female drivers had far fewer incidents than younger drivers, they continue to enjoy lower rates than the less experienced motorists. The results of our study can back this up, after comparing the data of a female driver aged 35 with that of young drivers. We discovered that on average, women only pay the following:
- $876 for state minimum coverage,
- $1421 for basic full coverage and
- $1986 for premium full coverage.
We also determined that insurance firm Geico offers the cheapest rates for female adult drivers for all three coverage types. You’ll find out more about the methodology4 we used below.
Senior Drivers in Delaware
Using the information on a 68-year-old male driver with 45 years of driving experience, the results of our study revealed that DE senior drivers only pay an average of:
- $873 for state minimum coverage,
- $1403 for basic full coverage and
- $1956 for premium full coverage.
Senior drivers can spend as little as $72.77 a month for minimum legal coverage. Geico still provides the cheapest rates for all types of coverage. For instance, their policy holders in Middletown, with an estimated population of 20,372 (2015, latest data5), pay just $51.00 a month for state minimum coverage.
Minimum car insurance requirements
Delaware’s car insurance laws state that all drivers must have the minimum liability insurance required by the state.
The state set these minimums as $15,000/$30,000 for bodily injury/death and $10,000 for property damage per accident.
Purchasing additional coverage is a smart way to protect yourself from unexpected financial costs in the event of an accident. Additional options available in Delaware include collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, underinsured motorist coverage, towing and labor coverage, and rental coverage.
Delaware isn’t a no-fault state. It’s a fault state regarding car insurance. This means the insurance payout after an accident is based on each person’s degree of fault.
Violations and penalties
It’s a crime to drive without car insurance in Delaware.
The first time you’re caught, you’ll receive a $1,500 to $2,000 fine plus a 6-month suspension of your driver’s license. Subsequent offenses will result in a $3,000 to $4,000 fine plus a 6-month driver’s license suspension.
Remember that the financial consequences of driving without insurance are greater if you’re involved in an accident. Failing to provide proof of insurance in a traffic stop will result in a fine on the smaller end of the scale. Failing to provide proof of insurance after an accident will result in a fine on the higher end of the scale.
Driving safety in Delaware
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention claims that 87% of drivers and front-seat passengers in Delaware wear seatbelts. That’s slightly more than the 86% national average.
Another study on driving safety in Delaware, this one from the National Highway Safety Administration, lists the number of driving fatalities in Delaware as 126 in 2015. They go on to state that 41 of these, or 33% of the total, were caused by alcohol impaired driving.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the total vehicle occupant death rate in Delaware is 6.9 per 100,000 residents.
You must buy car insurance in Delaware if you hope to avoid fines and penalties.
Though the minimum requirement is just liability insurance, it always pays to invest in more extensive insurance like collision or comprehensive coverage to better protect yourself financially in the event of an accident.
|1||State minimum coverage includes the minimum liability insurance limits required in your state but excludes the following:
|2||Basic full coverage includes:
|3||Premium full coverage includes:
|4||Methodology: To achieve accurate results we obtained estimates for 10 cities in the state: 5 of the largest cities and 5 randomly picked smaller cities. For each city, we collected premiums for 3 levels of coverage: state minimum coverage, basic full coverage and premium full coverage. We used 3 different driver profiles for the case studies. For the young driver profile we used a 20-year-old single male or female with 1 year driving experience. Second, the profile fit that of a 35-year-old married female with 12 years of driving experience. The last profile we used in our studies is a male senior driver who was 68-year-old with 45 years of driving experience. The vehicle we used for all three driver profiles was a 2012 Honda Accord EX.|
|5||Latest data: The U.S. census is conducted every 10 years as per requirement of the United States Constitution. The 23rd edition and the latest data is the 2010 United States Census. Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_United_States_Census|