Last Updated on October 1, 2020 by Andrew Lee
Car insurance is required for all drivers in Florida. Coverage helps protects drivers financially if an accident occurs. Knowing the basics of Florida’s insurance laws will help you avoid fines and penalties. Here are the most important factors to know regarding Florida car insurance and driver safety.
The average cost of car insurance in Florida
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claims that the average person pays roughly $1,143.83 for car insurance in Florida each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$860.43 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$242.48 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$106.83 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Florida
Our study revealed that in Florida, young drivers paid an annual average of:
- $2061 for state minimum coverage
- $3431 for basic full coverage
- $4609 for premium full coverage
Insurance companies use different factors to determine the premiums of young drivers, one of which is the specific city they live in. Yes, drivers aged 20 or below pay higher, but those living in Malone, FL, with a population of 2,088 (2010, latest data), still enjoy quite the reasonable rates. For instance, they can have state minimum coverage for $45 a month.
Female Drivers in Florida
A 35-year-old female driver in Florida can enjoy affordable auto insurance. According to our study, the average payments drivers within this category make are the following:
- $1132 for state minimum coverage
- $1815 for basic full coverage
- $2453 for premium full coverage
The results we gathered to point out that women in FL can expect to spend a lot less than young drivers in the state. Female drivers with state minimum coverage pay nearly $930 less than drivers within the 20-year-old (or younger) age bracket.
Senior Drivers in Florida
Our methodology involved using the data of a male driver aged 68 and with a driving experience of 45 years. The results of our case study found that senior drivers in FL pay an average of:
- $996 for state minimum coverage
- $1622 for basic full coverage
- $2203 for premium full coverage
Statistically, once a driver hits the age of 65, insurance costs begin to go up again. However, senior drivers still have a lower average compared with female drivers in Florida.
Minimum car insurance requirements
Florida requires all drivers registered in the state to carry both personal injury protection car insurance and property damage liability car insurance.
State laws set the minimum coverage amounts at $10,000 for personal injury protection car insurance and $10,000 for property damage liability car insurance.
Everyone in Florida has the option to buy more extensive car insurance coverage. Your options include comprehensive coverage, collision coverage, towing and labor coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, underinsured motorist coverage, and rental car coverage.
It’s very important to note that Florida is one of the 12 no-fault states. This means that your insurance company will always pay up to your coverage limits for both personal injury costs and property damage costs, no matter who is considered at fault for the accident.
Violations and Penalties
Driving without car insurance in Florida is a big deal.
The state makes a big effort to ensure all drivers have adequate insurance. Your insurance company will notify the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) immediately after your car insurance is canceled or not renewed.
The DHSMV will then send you a letter in the mail requesting your current car insurance information. Failure to provide proof of insurance in a timely manner will result in a number of violations and penalties. Your license and registration will be suspended for up to 3 years unless you provide proof of insurance before the deadline.
A $150 reinstatement fee is also required for the first offense. A $250 reinstatement fee is required after your second offense and a whopping $500 reinstatement fee is required the third time you fail to maintain car insurance.
Driving safety in Florida
A big reason for Florida’s strict laws regarding car insurance is driver safety. The laws help keep drivers safe in the event of a car accident.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention lists the percentage of Florida drivers and front-seat passengers that wear their seatbelts at 87% compared to the 86% national average.
The National Highway Safety Administration further expounds on driving safety with a study on driving fatalities in the state. According to the organization, 797 of the 2,939 total driving fatalities in 2015 were caused by alcohol-impaired driving. That’s 27% of them.
Finally, another study from the CDC puts Florida’s total vehicle occupant death rate at 6.4 per 100,000 residents.
Car insurance is required in Florida. Get caught without it and your license and registration will be suspended for up to 3 years.