Hawaii Car Insurance

Last Updated on October 1, 2020 by Andrew Lee

 

Find the Cheapest Auto Insurance

Compare Quotes From Top Insurers:

All car owners residing in Hawaii need to have their vehicles insured. It is extremely important for you to know what to include in your coverage and how the government can find and penalize you when you fail to meet these requirements. Here are the most important Hawaii car insurance facts you should know.

The average cost of car insurance in Hawaii

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claims that the average person pays roughly $739.26 for car insurance in Hawaii each year.

They broke this figure down to:

$457.09 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.

$291.89 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.

$95.18 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.

Young Drivers in Hawaii

In the Aloha State, how much coverage auto insurance policy holders have can significantly impact their premiums. Our case study found that young drivers here pay a yearly average of:

  • $737.6 for state minimum coverage
  • $843.2 for basic full coverage
  • $1824 for premium full coverage

Car insurance expenditures also differ depending on which city a young driver resides in. In HI, the two cities offering possibly the cheapest rates, at an average of $23/month for minimum legal coverage, are Koloa and Princeville, with a population of 2,144 and 2,158  (2010, latest data), respectively.

Female Drivers in Hawaii

Our methodology involved using the profile of a 35-year-old female driver. We found that adult women in HI have lower premiums than young drivers. According to the results of our research, female drivers can expect to pay the following averages:

  • $647.2 for state minimum coverage
  • $680.8 for basic full coverage
  • $1472.8 for premium full coverage

Insurers use a wide array of other variables to determine final premiums, including exact location, claims record, and driving history. Based on these factors, your individual quotes may still go up or down.

Senior Drivers in Hawaii

In our case study, we used a male driver aged 68 with 45 years of driving experience. We determined that Hawaii senior drivers with this length of driving experience can expect to pay an average of:

  • $647.2 for state minimum coverage
  • $680.8 for basic full coverage
  • $1472.8 for premium full coverage

Although motorists within the age bracket of 65 years old and above also have lower car auto insurance costs than young drivers, there are still some things they can do to bring it down further. Keeping their driving records clean is one of the best ways to maintain affordable rates.

Minimum car insurance requirements

The insurance law in Hawaii mandates all car owners to purchase liability coverage as well as Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. The former covers expenses associated with injuries or damages in the event you cause an accident.

For liability insurance, drivers should have a minimum coverage of $20,000 per person for bodily injury and a total of $40,000 for bodily injury in the event that more than one person is injured. The state law also requires motorists to carry $10,000 as the minimum coverage for property damage.

There are plenty of other auto insurance coverage options you can purchase in the State. These include collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, and underinsured motorist coverage.

Take note that Hawaii falls under the 12 no-fault states in the nation. It is because of this that you automatically have to get PIP. It is not without its benefits though, as this coverage provides you with financial protection, even when you are responsible for causing the accident.

Violations and Penalties 

Failure to comply with the minimum requirements for car insurance will result in you facing penalties and fines. In fact, just forgetting to bring along with you your car insurance identification card will already lead to traffic tickets and fines.

In Hawaii, when authorities catch you driving without insurance, you can expect serious financial consequences. For your first offense, you would have to pay $500. They will also suspend your driver’s license for a period of three months or have you purchase a non-refundable automobile insurance policy with a six-month duration.

For your second offense, you can face a fine of anywhere from $1,500 to $5,000. You will also bear the burden of a suspended license for an entire year or purchase the same six-month non-refundable coverage.

When the authorities catch you driving without the proper insurance coverage for the third time within a five-year duration, you can face imprisonment of up to 30 days. The government will also revoke your registration plates and/or impound (or impound and sell) your vehicle.

The State of Hawaii strictly enforces all its car insurance laws. When you do not have the required minimum coverage, you can expect The Department of Finance to find out about it quickly, as the organization checks all registered vehicles for proper insurance on a monthly basis.

Driving safety in Hawaii

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), 93% of motorists and front-seat passengers wear seatbelts in the state. This is higher than the 86% national average.

The National Highway Safety Administration also released a 2015 assessment of fatalities related to alcohol impaired driving. Out of the 94 cases of driving fatalities, 33 incidents, or 35%, are due to alcohol impaired driving.

Another CDC study revealed that the 94 total fatal driving incidents makes the overall vehicle occupant death rate in Hawaii at 4.0 per 100,000 residents.

Final thoughts

As a resident of Hawaii, you should abide by all the laws surrounding car insurance. To better protect yourself and your finances, you should consider purchasing a more extensive insurance policy.

Source: StatistaInsurance Information Institute