Last Updated on October 1, 2020 by Andrew Lee
In the State of Idaho, all car owners must carry the minimum liability car insurance coverage. It is best to know what comes with basic coverage or you can end up facing serious fines and penalties. To ensure you comply with the state laws, here are the basic facts on Idaho car insurance.
The average cost of car insurance in Idaho
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claims that the average person pays roughly $553.38 for car insurance in Idaho each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$339.50 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$203.02 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$108.06 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Idaho
Young drivers in the Gem State have car insurance premiums higher than their seniors with lengthier driving experience. In our case study, we discovered that a young driver in the state can expect to pay an average of:
- $604.4 for state minimum coverage
- $1445.2 for basic full coverage
- $1979.6 for premium full coverage
Experienced motorists make up a majority of the driving population in Idaho. However, this doesn’t completely eliminate the risks of newcomers causing accidents or getting involved in a collision. Insurers initially consider all young drivers as high-risk, which is why they charge this specific group of people with higher rates.
Female Drivers in Idaho
A 35-year-old female driver who has 12 years of driving experience can enjoy reasonable auto insurance costs. Women have long since held on to their good driving record, one of the reasons they can expect to pay just these averages:
- $298 for state minimum coverage
- $752.4 for basic full coverage
- $1090.8 for premium full coverage
Female motorists can maintain a Basic Full coverage for just $56.50 a month on average. Our study also showed that Franklin, with an estimated population of 13,074 (2015, latest data), has the lowest possible monthly premium average for State Minimum coverage.
Senior Drivers in Idaho
Senior drivers who have an extensive driving experience and clean record can still find reasonably-priced car insurance in ID. Based on our study, the average premiums senior drivers can expect are:
- $315.6 for state minimum coverage
- $760.4 for basic full coverage
- $1088.8 for premium full coverage
Our methodology (a detailed explanation below) suggests that the greater the experience level of a motorist is, the lower his/her risks are in causing or getting involved in road traffic accidents.
Minimum car insurance requirements
Owning a car in Idaho means having to purchase liability coverage. This helps make certain you have the financial ability to pay for injuries or damages in the event you cause an accident on the road.
All car owners in the state have to carry a minimum of $25,000 for bodily injury for one victim in a single accident. You further have to purchase a $50,000 minimum total bodily injury coverage for two or more persons. As for property damage coverage, you should have at least $15,000 on your policy.
When you obtain motor vehicle insurance in the State, you automatically get uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. Both types of coverage provide you with financial protection in the event that you have caused an accident resulting in injuries to someone who has no or has insufficient insurance.
While property damage coverage doesn’t make it to the list of mandated insurance coverage types, you should still consider purchasing it as it may prove to be of extreme help when you cause an accident. Opting out of uninsured coverage is an option, although you may want not to, as it delivers additional protection.
Violations and Penalties
Serious penalties await those who fail to abide by the legal car insurance requirements in Idaho.
For first offenders, you would have to pay up to $75 when caught without car insurance (or insufficient coverage). The authorities will also suspend your license until you take financial responsibility. You would need to have this proof with you for a minimum of one year from the day of your conviction.
Second and other subsequent violations that take place within a five-year duration will cost you up to $1,000. Unless you have proof of financial responsibility, your license will remain suspended. You can also face a prison sentence of six months. You should also maintain proof of financial responsibility for the next three years.
Driving safety in Idaho
A study conducted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) showed that 79% of motorists and front-seat passengers in Idaho wear seatbelts, as opposed to the 86% national average.
A 2015 National Highway Safety Administration assessment of fatalities related to alcohol-impaired driving also revealed that ID had 216 driving fatality cases. And out of this total, 70 were caused by alcohol-impaired driving.
In another CDC study, this number of fatalities put the overall vehicle occupant death rate in the state at 8.6 per 100,000 residents.
The last thing you want to happen is to cause an accident on any of the streets or roads in Idaho. However, an unfortunate incident may still arise, which is why you should never disregard the importance and value of a robust auto insurance policy.