All Illinois automobile owners, in order to comply with the state laws, have to purchase two types of insurance coverage. These include liability insurance and uninsured motorist insurance. It’s critical you have a basic understanding of these coverage types, since you don’t want to receive penalties or pay pricey fines. Here are the most important things you need to know when it comes to Illinois car insurance.
Average cost of car insurance in Illinois
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claim that the average person pays roughly $744.75 for car insurance in Illinois each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$424.92 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$278.01 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$116.34 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Illinois
The results of our case study revealed that young drivers in the Land of Lincoln can expect to pay these auto insurance premium averages:
- $1093.6 for state minimum coverage1,
- $2445.6 for basic full coverage2 and
- $3368.4 for premium full coverage3.
Less inexperienced motorists in Illinois can upgrade to the Basic Full or Premium Full coverage. Premium averages will go up by $1,352 and $2,274.80 respectively, but doing so will provide them more coverage and better protection.
Female Drivers in Illinois
Even now, as our case study found, women aged 35 with 12 years of driving experience in IL pay less than young drivers. On average, they can expect the following premiums:
- $474.8 for state minimum coverage,
- $1007.6 for basic full coverage and
- $1424.4 for premium full coverage.
Female drivers have a good driving history in general. Taking into account that older female motorists were involved in fewer road-related accidents, insurance companies charge them lower car insurance rates. You’ll learn more about our methodology4 below.
Senior Drivers in Illinois
Like with many other states, insurance premiums in Illinois start to increase again once a driver hits the age of 65. However, we discovered that the premium averages of a 68-year-old male driver with 45 years of driving experience don’t differ that much to what older female motorists pay for. Senior drivers can expect the following premium averages:
- $478.4 for state minimum coverage,
- $984.4 for basic full coverage and
- $1376 for premium full coverage.
Senior drivers can spend as little as $39.87 a month for state minimum coverage. For better protection, you can upgrade to the basic full or the premium full coverage. Your premium averages will go up to $82.03 or $114.67.
Minimum car insurance requirements
Having and operating a car in Idaho means carrying both liability and uninsured motorist insurance coverage. Both protect you financially. The former covers damages or injuries to others for an accident you caused, while the latter provides you with coverage when you have caused an accident resulting in injuries to person/people not carrying any insurance.
For liability insurance, make sure you have a minimum of $25,000 for bodily injury for one person in a single accident. Your policy should also include a $50,000 minimum total bodily injury coverage for two or more individuals. $20,000 is the set minimum coverage for property damage.
As for uninsured and underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage, state laws mandate all car owners to have the following basic minimum requirements: $25,000 per person and $50,000 total per accident.
There are several other forms of insurance coverage you can opt for. These include collision insurance, comprehensive insurance, medical payments insurance, and uninsured motorist property damage insurance. Also take note that, even when you do not have any legal liability to obtain collision and comprehensive insurance coverages, the car lending company you work with may require you to do so.
Violations and Penalties
Driving without insurance (or insufficient coverage, for that matter) in the State of Illinois can cost you a lot of money when you get caught.
When the authorities catch you for the first time, you will have to pay for anywhere from $501 to $1,000. They will also suspend your license for a period of three months with the reinstatement fee amounting to $100.
The same penalties and fines apply to second time offenders.
As for third and subsequent offenses, you have to pay the fine of $1,000. To have your license reinstated, you have to wait for the lifting of your three-month suspension period and also pay for another $100 fine. Furthermore, you have to show proof of insurance, the duration of which should last no less than 36 months.
Driving safety in Illinois
Illinois boast of a higher than national average (86%) when it comes to motorists and front-seat passengers wearing seatbelts: 94%, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
A 2015 National Highway Safety Administration assessment also revealed that out of the 998 driving fatality cases in the state, 307 were because of alcohol impaired driving.
A separate CDC study showed that due to this number of fatalities, the overall vehicle occupant death rate in IL is 4.7 per 100,000 residents.
You seriously don’t want the authorities to catch you off guard driving without or even insufficient insurance in Idaho, not only because of the fines and penalties, but also because in itself, it will already cost you a lot. So don’t risk it: invest in a more extensive policy.
|1||State minimum coverage includes the minimum liability insurance limits required in your state but excludes the following:
|2||Basic full coverage includes:
|3||Premium full coverage includes:
|4||Methodology: To achieve accurate results we obtained estimates for 10 cities in the state: 5 of the largest cities and 5 randomly picked smaller cities. For each city, we collected premiums for 3 levels of coverage: state minimum coverage, basic full coverage and premium full coverage. We used 3 different driver profiles for the case studies. For the young driver profile we used a 20-year-old single male or female with 1 year driving experience. Second, the profile fit that of a 35-year-old married female with 12 years of driving experience. The last profile we used in our studies is a male senior driver who was 68-year-old with 45 years of driving experience. The vehicle we used for all three driver profiles was a 2012 Honda Accord EX.|