Kansas state laws obligate all car owners to have their vehicles insured. Each state have varying requirements. However, living in this particular part of the country means purchasing a policy that provides a minimum coverage for both injuries to other people as well as property damage that you have caused during a road accident. With this said, you should have a basic understanding of how Kansas car insurance works, not only to avoid penalties and fines, but also to protect yourself.
Average cost of car insurance in Kansas
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claim that the average person pays roughly $668.93 for car insurance in Kansas each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$342.20 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$247.31 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$238.75 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Kansas
In Kansas, like everywhere else in the country, young drivers have the highest auto insurance related expenditures. In our case study, we found that a young driver can expect to pay an average of:
- $977.2 for state minimum coverage1,
- $2037.2 for basic full coverage2 and
- $2893.6 for premium full coverage3.
Although more experienced motorists make up the driving population, this doesn’t mean that young drivers will no longer cause road related accidents. Historically, these individuals lacking in driving experience have had the highest road collision rates. This is why their premiums remain the highest for all types of drivers.
Female Drivers in Kansas
A female driver can expect to pay the following yearly premium averages:
- $450 for state minimum coverage,
- $983.6 for basic full coverage and
- $1460.8 for premium full coverage.
Women can choose to upgrade to a premium full coverage and still enjoy an affordable monthly average of around $121.73. But residents of Topeka, KS, with an estimated population of 127,265 (2015, latest data4), can have this type of insurance and pay as low as $95 a month.
Senior Drivers in Kansas
Senior drivers who have a spotless record and good history can pay less towards their premiums than female drivers. Our study found that an older adult in the Central State can expect to pay an average of:
- $432.8 for state minimum coverage,
- $890.1 for basic full coverage and
- $1299.7 for premium full coverage.
Our methodology5 suggests that the more experienced a motorist is, the cheaper his/her insurance premiums are. However, it still depends on individual characteristics, driving record, and history.
Minimum car insurance requirements
Your Kansas automobile insurance program should comprise of three types of coverage: liability insurance, Personal Injury Protection (PIP), as well as uninsured and underinsured coverage.
Liability insurance coverage protects you financially because it covers any damage or injury to others that you have caused after a traffic accident. Given that you have the minimum limit of $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for multiple/total bodily injury, and $10,000 for property damage, it means that you are in compliance with the state laws.
Because Kansas is one of the twelve no-fault states in the country, you also have to obtain the Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. Carrying this means you will receive coverage for your own injuries, regardless of the party that caused the accident. The minimum requirements for this coverage include $4,500 for medical costs per person; $900 a month (for an entire year) for loss of income and disability; $25 for daily in-home services; $2,000 for burial, cremation, or funeral expenses; and $4,500 for rehabilitation services.
The last must-have coverage – uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage – gives you financial support for injury-related expenses to yourself in the event that the other party involved in the accident does not have or has inadequate insurance. The requirements include a $25,000 minimum per person for bodily injury and a $50,000 minimum for injuries to multiple people.
The car insurance company you choose to obtain your policy from may also offer you with other optional coverage types, including collision insurance, comprehensive insurance, towing and labor, as well as rental reimbursement.
Violations and Penalties
Kansas laws are extremely strict even for first time offenders.
For instance, a first violation already warrants a fine of anywhere from $300 to $1,000. You may also face county jail confinement of up to six months. Unless you file a proof of insurance with the director, both your registration and license will remain suspended. To have your registration reinstated, you have to spend another $100. In the event your conviction revolves around not having liability insurance, the law requires you to provide proof of a 12-month insurance coverage.
Fines for second and subsequent offenses within a three-year duration goes up to $800 to $2,500. Reinstatement costs $300.
The authorities already regard a third offense within a five-year duration from the first time of conviction as a habitual violation. The same penalties apply for subsequent violations, however, they will also revoke your driving privileges for three years.
Driving safety in Kansas
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), only 80% of motorists and front-seat passengers wear seatbelts in Kansas; lower than the 86% national average.
A 2015 National Highway Safety Administration assessment also revealed that alcohol impaired driving resulted in 84 (24%) out of 355 driving fatalities.
The CDC further reported that this count puts the overall vehicle occupant death rate in the state at 11.0 per 100,000 residents.
As you can see, you shouldn’t drive without car insurance in Kansas or have an inadequate policy. To protect yourself and others, opt for a more robust program.
|1||State minimum coverage includes the minimum liability insurance limits required in your state but excludes the following:
|2||Basic full coverage includes:
|3||Premium full coverage includes:
|4||Latest data: The U.S. census is conducted every 10 years as per requirement of the United States Constitution. The 23rd edition and the latest data is the 2010 United States Census. Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_United_States_Census|
|5||Methodology: To achieve accurate results we obtained estimates for 10 cities in the state: 5 of the largest cities and 5 randomly picked smaller cities. For each city, we collected premiums for 3 levels of coverage: state minimum coverage, basic full coverage and premium full coverage. We used 3 different driver profiles for the case studies. For the young driver profile we used a 20-year-old single male or female with 1 year driving experience. Second, the profile fit that of a 35-year-old married female with 12 years of driving experience. The last profile we used in our studies is a male senior driver who was 68-year-old with 45 years of driving experience. The vehicle we used for all three driver profiles was a 2012 Honda Accord EX.|