Last Updated on September 29, 2020 by Andrew Lee
With the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) wanting to minimize the number of uninsured and underinsured motorists in the state, all car owners and drivers must purchase an auto insurance policy. However, it should not just be any policy; it should contain all the basic minimums set by the state. Failure to do so can result in violations that incur hefty fines and other serious consequences, so you should educate yourself about the basics of Kentucky car insurance.
The average cost of car insurance in Kentucky
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claims that the average person pays roughly $772.80 for car insurance in Kentucky each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$522.34 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$254.45 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$128.20 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Kentucky
The results of our case study show that young drivers in the Bluegrass State can expect the following auto insurance premium averages:
- $1311.2 for state minimum coverage
- $2392.8 for basic full coverage
- $3178.4 for premium full coverage
Opting for more coverage is always a good idea, as the more extensive basic full and premium full coverages provide better protection. The greater the number and types of peril included the lower the out-of-pocket expenses incurred after an accident.
Female Drivers in Kentucky
Female drivers, before and now, continue to pay premiums lower than younger drivers. One reason behind this is because they consistently perform better on the road. Our study backs this up, as we found that a female driver can expect the following premium averages:
- $658.8 for state minimum coverage
- $1132 for basic full coverage
- $1508.8 for premium full coverage
We also determined that women in the State of Kentucky, on average, pay $652.50 less than young drivers for the state minimum coverage, $1,260.80 for basic full, and $1,669.60 for the premium full.
Senior Drivers in Kentucky
A senior driver with a can expect to make the average payments towards his car insurance:
- $616.4 for state minimum coverage
- $1012 for basic full coverage
- $1372 for premium full coverage
Our case study’s methodology also revealed that senior drivers can spend a monthly average of as little as $30.10 for a policy. We also found that Covington and Hopkinsville, with estimated populations of 40,997 and 32,205 (2015, latest data) respectively, both offer auto insurance coverage for $25 a month.
Minimum car insurance requirements
Liability insurance coverage is the must-have for any Kentucky policy. In the state, the authorities require all motor vehicle owners and operators to have two types of this coverage, namely bodily injury liability insurance and property damage liability insurance.
Bodily injury liability insurance helps you pay for the expenses incurred after injuring or causing death due to a road accident. Property damage liability insurance, on the other hand, covers all damages you have caused to another party’s property. You have the option to combine both into the coverage known as Single Limit Liability (SLL) coverage.
As the state law requires, the minimum insurance policy should comprise of $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for total bodily injury, and $10,000 for property damage.
Kentucky makes it to the list of the 12 states in the country considered as no-fault states. This means that all car insurance programs should include Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance, which provides up to $10,000 coverage per person and per accident, regardless of who caused the accident.
Auto insurance companies also offer a variety of other insurance coverage types, including collision insurance, comprehensive insurance, underinsured motorist insurance, and uninsured motorist insurance.
Violations and Penalties
It can cost you a lot of money when you drive without insurance in Kentucky. And because the KYTC can easily catch you, you would definitely have a hard time hiding the fact that you operate a motor vehicle despite not having the necessary insurance.
A first-time offense results in a fine that can range from $500 to $1,000. Your penalty may also include confinement or imprisonment of up to 3 months, or a combination of this and a fine. You can also have your registration suspended for a year or until you can show proof of commissioner satisfaction.
For second-time or subsequent offenders (within a five-year duration), the Kentucky state laws enforce much more serious penalties. In addition to a fine amounting to $1,000 up to $2,500, you may also face jail time (or either one of which). Confinement to jail usually lasts up to 180 days. The same registration suspension laws apply. You may also find your license revoked for a year when you have a single previous violation or two years for multiple violations.
Driving safety in Kentucky
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Kentucky falls below the 86% national average of motorists and front-seat passengers wearing seatbelts, as only 84% of them do.
In a 2015 study conducted by the National Highway Safety Administration, it showed that 761 driving fatalities occurred during the year, and 25% (192 cases) were due to alcohol-impaired driving.
Because of this, the CDC rates the overall vehicle occupant death in the state at 12.9 per 100,000 residents.
Car insurance is extremely important not just because the law requires you to have it, but also due to the protection it gives you, your passengers, and other people you share the road with.