Last Updated on September 29, 2020 by Andrew Lee
Like in almost all other states in the country, Maine residents who own and drive an automobile have to have a car insurance policy. However, because motor vehicle insurance laws vary from state to state, you need to learn as much as you can about it in order to avoid pricey fines and severe penalties.
The average cost of car insurance in Maine
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claims that the average person pays roughly $592.82 for car insurance in Maine each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$333.69 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$245.85 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$95.40 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Maine
Coverage levels have a huge impact on how much car insurance policyholders pay for their premiums. Our study found that the Pine Tree State offers young drivers the following yearly averages:
- $776 for state minimum coverage
- $1380 for basic full coverage
- $1793.6 for premium full coverage
Auto insurance expenditures also differ based on factors like specific locations. However, Maine is already one of the states that has the lowest costs for this type of insurance. This is especially true for the young drivers of Sanford, with an estimated population of 20,893 (2015, latest data), as they can pay as low as $32 a month.
Female Drivers in Maine
A female driver can expect the following annual premium averages:
- $380.8 for state minimum coverage
- $650.8 for basic full coverage
- $883.6 for premium full coverage
The individual quotes you’ll get will still vary though, depending on a myriad of considerations such as your claims and driving record, as well as the specific city you live in.
Senior Drivers in Maine
In our case study, our methodology determined that senior drivers can have the following yearly premium averages:
- $366 for state minimum coverage
- $610.8 for basic full coverage
- $826 for premium full coverage
The results of our research suggest that senior drivers already pay less than young and female drivers. But, they can actually further reduce their auto insurance costs by qualifying for senior citizen-specific discounts. Another money-saving strategy for older adults is to complete defensive driving courses.
Minimum car insurance requirements
In the State of Maine, the laws dictate that, for a car owner to remain in compliance with auto insurance regulations, their policies should consist of liability insurance, medical payments coverage, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
For the liability insurance part of your policy, make sure you have a minimum of $50,000 (per person) for bodily injury or death; a minimum of $100,000 (per accident and for multiple victims) for total bodily injury or death; and a minimum of $25,000 for property damage.
As for the medical payment coverage, the law enforces a $2,000 minimum. This portion of your insurance program will help cover your own expenses in the form of medical or funeral expenditures. Some of the health-related fees that it covers include bills incurred in the hospital, chiropractic services, x-rays, and surgeries. The best part about this is that you can still get compensation regardless of the party responsible for the road accident (even if it was you).
The last mandated type of coverage in Maine is the uninsured motorist coverage (also known as UM). With this, you can expect protection in the event you become a hit-and-run accident victim, the party at-fault does not carry auto insurance, or the party at-fault has inadequate insurance to cover for the property damage dealt to you or for your medical expenses.
Violations and Penalties
When the authorities catch you driving a motor vehicle without (or insufficient) insurance, you can expect them to find and penalize you.
Fines range from $100 up to $500, depending on the circumstances and a number of other factors (such as whether you fall under the uninsured or the underinsured motorist category). In addition, unless you show proof of insurance, both your registration and license will remain suspended.
Driving safety in Maine
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the total percentage of motorists and front-seat passengers who wear seatbelts in Maine total only to 84%; 2% lower than the national average of 86%.
A 2015 National Highway Safety Administration study also showed that 156 driving fatalities occurred in the state during this year. 52 of them (33%) were due to alcohol impaired drivers.
The CDC then places the total vehicle occupant death rate in ME at 9.4 per 100,000 residents.
As a responsible resident of Maine, you should never disregard the value and importance of investing in a car insurance program that complies with all of the state laws. It plays an important part in your life as a motorist, and not just because the law says you should carry it, but also because it serves as a protection for you, your property, and the other people who may get involved in an accident with you.