In the State of Massachusetts, you need to have an auto insurance policy that meets the legal minimum coverage before you can operate your motor vehicle. State laws are quite specific and rigorous, so make sure you understand them better. To prevent problems with the law and safeguard yourself from potential car-accident related expenses, here’s what you need to know about Massachusetts car insurance.
Average cost of car insurance in Massachusetts
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claim that the average person pays roughly $1,007.98 for car insurance in Massachusetts each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$589.38 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$361.12 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$129.97 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Massachusetts
In the State of Massachusetts, young drivers belong to the group that pays the most in terms of auto insurance premiums. Our case study provides evidence for this, as it found that this type of driver can expect the following yearly premium averages:
- $975.6 for state minimum coverage1,
- $2070.4 for basic full coverage2 and
- $1945.6 for premium full coverage3.
Fortunately, there are several ways for novice drivers to cut back on these costs. Driving carefully as well as opting for a vehicle that comes with modern and effective safety technology can all contribute to lower premiums.
Female Drivers in Massachusetts
We found that women can pay less than young drivers. Motorists belonging in this specific category have the following yearly premium averages:
- $534.4 for state minimum coverage,
- $1018 for basic full coverage and
- $888.8 for premium full coverage.
Because of this, female motorists may want to upgrade their coverage to the more robust basic full, which only costs about $483.60 more than the state minimum. Going for the premium full, the most extensive of all coverages, provides the greatest level of protection, for an additional cost of about $354.40.
Senior Drivers in Massachusetts
A senior driver boasting of a clean record can pay less than younger, and even female drivers. According to the results of our case study, older adults can expect to pay these for their yearly premium averages:
- $467.6 for state minimum coverage,
- $865.6 for basic full coverage and
- $810 for premium full coverage.
Our methodology4 leans toward the conclusion that, the greater the experience of a motorist is, the less risks he/she has of becoming part of the road accident statistics.
Minimum car insurance requirements
As a car owner in the State of Massachusetts, you have to purchase four different types of automobile insurance coverage. You have to get them not only because the law says so, but also because they help protect you in cases of accidents (that you may cause or get involved in).
The first type of insurance coverage you should get is “Bodily Injury to Others.” Regulations state you have to have at $20,000 per person, and $40,000 per accident.
Because Massachusetts make up the 12 no-fault states in the country, you also have to purchase the Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance coverage. This helps pay for expenses that you incur due to medication, hospitalization, or death. The minimum requirement is an $8,000 coverage per person in an accident.
Thirdly is “Bodily Injury Caused by an Uninsured Auto.” For this part of your policy, make sure you meet the following requirements: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.
Lastly is “Damage to Someone Else’s Property;” the minimum requirement of which is $5,000 per accident.
As you shop around, car insurance companies will also offer you some other types of optional coverage. These include collision insurance, comprehensive insurance, rental, as well as towing and labor.
Violations and penalties
When you violate the car insurance laws in the State of Massachusetts, expect to face serious fines and penalties.
When caught the first time, you would have to pay a fine of $500. The authorities may also require you to purchase a year worth of compulsory car insurance. Take note that even a first offense can land you in jail for up to 12 months. Your license will also have a 60-day suspension period.
Second offenses that occur within six years from the first violation can cost you anywhere from $500 to $5,000. You may also have to pay another year’s worth of mandatory vehicle insurance. Similar to first-time offenders, you can also face a year of imprisonment.
Driving safety in Massachusetts
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reported that only 73% (13% lower than the 86% national average) of motorists and front-seat passengers wear seatbelts.
In a 2015 study from the National Highway Safety Administration, it was shown that 306 fatalities occurred in the state this year. 96 of them (31%) were caused by alcohol impaired drivers.
This count, as the CDC stated, places MA’s overall vehicle occupant death rate at 2.9 per 100,000 residents.
No matter how prudently or safely you think you drive, you can still get into an accident, whether it’s your fault or not. And when this happens, your car insurance policy will provide you with the financial protection you need.
|1||State minimum coverage includes the minimum liability insurance limits required in your state but excludes the following:
|2||Basic full coverage includes:
|3||Premium full coverage includes:
|4||Methodology: To achieve accurate results we obtained estimates for 10 cities in the state: 5 of the largest cities and 5 randomly picked smaller cities. For each city, we collected premiums for 3 levels of coverage: state minimum coverage, basic full coverage and premium full coverage. We used 3 different driver profiles for the case studies. For the young driver profile we used a 20-year-old single male or female with 1 year driving experience. Second, the profile fit that of a 35-year-old married female with 12 years of driving experience. The last profile we used in our studies is a male senior driver who was 68-year-old with 45 years of driving experience. The vehicle we used for all three driver profiles was a 2012 Honda Accord EX.|