Although you don’t have to present proof of insurance when registering your car in the State of Mississippi, the laws still require you to purchase coverage. In other words, you can only legally drive upon securing an insurance policy.
When you don’t, you can face severe penalties. Add to that the fact that you would have to pay for medical or property damage expenses in the event that you cause a road accident.
Average cost of car insurance in Mississippi
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claim that the average person pays roughly $768.20 for car insurance in Mississippi each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$434.88 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$299.27 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$190.98 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Mississippi
The amount of coverage considerably impacts premiums. With our case study’s methodology1, we discovered that a young driver in the Magnolia State can have the following yearly averages:
- $1256.8 for state minimum coverage2,
- $2243.2 for basic full coverage3 and
- $3184.8 for premium full coverage4.
Car insurance costs still vary because of the wide array of factors insurers take into consideration. In general though, because statistics have consistently shown teen drivers have the highest risk of getting into accidents and causing them, this group of individuals pay a lot more than older motorists.
Female Drivers in Mississippi
A female driver can expect the following yearly premium averages:
- $651.2 for state minimum coverage,
- $1153.2 for basic full coverage and
- $1668.8 for premium full coverage.
The bigger the city you live in, the better premiums you’ll have. Ranking as the sixth largest in the state, Meridian City, with an estimated population of 39,661 (2015, latest data5), still offers possibly the lowest rates. Women living here can have insurance for as low as $42 a month.
Senior Drivers in Mississippi
Older adults can expect to pay an average of:
- $617.2 for state minimum coverage,
- $1063.6 for basic full coverage and
- $1516 for premium full coverage.
Fortunately, there are plenty of ways senior citizens can reduce their expenses. The tight competition has resulted in insurance companies offering various age-specific discounts.
Minimum car insurance requirements
You only need to have sufficient amount of liability insurance coverage in order to satisfy the motor vehicle insurance requirements in MS. This already provides you with coverage for bodily injury and property damage you have caused other people after an accident you are at-fault of.
You need to make sure that your policy has the following minimum coverage amounts: $25,000 for bodily injury/per person; $50,000 for bodily injury/per accident; $25,000 for property damage/accident.
Because the State of Mississippi only requires liability insurance, you should think of investing in a more robust policy. MS auto insurance companies offer many other types of coverage, including collision insurance, comprehensive insurance, uninsured/underinsured coverage, medical payments insurance, rental car coverage, loan/lease gap insurance, as well as roadside assistance and towing coverage.
Also take note that most vehicle lending/leasing companies require their clients to purchase both collision and comprehensive insurance as part of their financing terms and agreements.
Read more about car insurance here.
Violations and penalties
Despite the fact that the state requires every car owner to have auto insurance, many residents still drive illegally without it. You should, at all costs, refrain from doing so.
When the authorities catch you operating a motor vehicle without the mandated coverage, they will charge you a fine of up to $500. This will go down to $100 in the event that you purchase a policy before your hearing. Suspension of your license will also take place – up to a year or unless you show proof of insurance.
Driving safety in Mississippi
Mississippi, as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reports, has a lower (83%) than the national average percentage of drivers and front-seat passengers who wear seatbelts (86%).
The National Highway Safety Administration conducted a 2015 study assessing the number of driving fatalities in the country. MS had 677 cases, 175 of which (26%) were due to alcohol impaired driving.
The CDC has then rated the total vehicle occupant death rate in the state at 16.0 per 100,000 residents.
Every time you operate your motor vehicle even though you do not have a Mississippi car insurance policy, you put yourself and a lot of other people at risk. Not only are you blatantly disobeying the state’s rules and regulations; you may also find yourself in a serious financial pinch when you cause a road traffic accident that results in personal injuries, injury to other people, or property damage.
|1||Methodology: To achieve accurate results we obtained estimates for 10 cities in the state: 5 of the largest cities and 5 randomly picked smaller cities. For each city, we collected premiums for 3 levels of coverage: state minimum coverage, basic full coverage and premium full coverage. We used 3 different driver profiles for the case studies. For the young driver profile we used a 20-year-old single male or female with 1 year driving experience. Second, the profile fit that of a 35-year-old married female with 12 years of driving experience. The last profile we used in our studies is a male senior driver who was 68-year-old with 45 years of driving experience. The vehicle we used for all three driver profiles was a 2012 Honda Accord EX.|
|2||State minimum coverage includes the minimum liability insurance limits required in your state but excludes the following:
|3||Basic full coverage includes:
|4||Premium full coverage includes:
|5||Latest data: The U.S. census is conducted every 10 years as per requirement of the United States Constitution. The 23rd edition and the latest data is the 2010 United States Census. Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_United_States_Census|