Last Updated on September 29, 2020 by Andrew Lee
The State of New Hampshire is one of the few that doesn’t require car owners to purchase any form of auto insurance coverage. However, this should not stop you from obtaining and maintaining one. This is especially true since the state mandates motorists who have caused a road traffic accident resulting in bodily injury or property damage to pay for the expenses incurred due to these after-incident results.
The average cost of car insurance in New Hampshire
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claims that the average person pays roughly $733.02 for car insurance in New Hampshire each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$391.92 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$279.36 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$102.02 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in New Hampshire
Our case study showed that a young driver in NH can expect to pay the following yearly premium averages:
- $1446.8 for state minimum coverage
- $2473.2 for basic full coverage
- $3347.6 for premium full coverage
One of the biggest reasons for these high costs is because young drivers still lack in good driving qualities. They don’t have the same level of skills that their superiors have, especially when it comes to avoiding collisions. Insurers consider this as high risk, so they charge higher rates, resulting in higher premiums.
Female Drivers in New Hampshire
A female driver can expect to pay the following yearly premium averages:
- $532.8 for state minimum coverage
- $898 for basic full coverage
- $1256 for premium full coverage
Our case study shows that women spend far less than teens towards their auto insurance. But there are actually several more ways to further bring this down. Choosing a vehicle with excellent safety features is an effective money-saving strategy.
Senior Drivers in New Hampshire
Based on our methodology, we’ve learned that seniors can pay an average of:
- $510.4 for state minimum coverage
- $847.2 for basic full coverage
- $1157.6 for premium full coverage
From the 10 cities we selected, Claremont, with an estimated population of 12,984 (2015, latest data), and Lebanon, with an estimated population of 13,579 (2015, latest data), offer some of the cheapest coverage. Senior drivers here can spend as low as $17/month for their insurance.
Minimum car insurance requirements
Although the State of New Hampshire doesn’t have laws obligating motor vehicle owners and operators to carry insurance, most of these people still choose to do so. In fact, the state boasts of an uninsured driver rate that goes below the national average.
You should follow in the footsteps of these responsible residents, and get yourself even at least the coverage minimums for liability insurance, medical payments insurance, and uninsured motorist insurance.
With a $25,000 minimum for bodily injury/person, $50,000 minimum for total bodily injury (applies to cases wherein several people sustained injuries in a car accident you caused), and a $25,000 minimum for property damage, your liability insurance will help cover expenses for bodily injury and/or property damage you have caused to others.
In case you get into a road accident that will result in you sustaining injuries yourself, the medical payment coverage portion of your policy (with a $1,000 minimum) will help pay for the medical/hospital costs.
Despite New Hampshire having a low uninsured/underinsured motorist rate, you can never tell when you will get into an accident involving a driver falling under this category. This is why insurers include the uninsured motorist coverage in the basic insurance programs they offer. This should have the same minimums as the liability portion of your policy.
Collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, rental reimbursement, as well as towing and labor are some of the other optional coverage types you should consider investing in.
Violations and Penalties
Because New Hampshire doesn’t require its residents who own and drive cars to have insurance, it only follows that the state also doesn’t enforce violations and penalties. However, you should still practice extreme caution, or you can face serious expenses in the event you cause a road traffic accident. You have to pay for all the costs resulting from bodily injury and/or property damage.
Driving safety in New Hampshire
Only 69% of New Hampshire motorists and front-seat passengers wear their seatbelts, as a Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) study revealed. The national average is 86%, which means that the state falls 17% lower.
A National Highway Safety Administration study showed that 114 driving fatalities occurred in the NH in 2015. 33 cases out of this total (29%) happened due to alcohol-impaired driving.
The CDC has then rated the overall vehicle occupant death in the state at 5.0 per 100,000 residents.
Regardless of New Hampshire’s non-existent car insurance requirements, still consider it a valuable investment rather than just another expense. When you have even just the basic policy, it may feel better being out there on the road.