Last Updated on September 29, 2020 by Andrew Lee
The State of Oklahoma implements auto insurance laws. This means that you have to purchase the required policy before you can even have your motor vehicle registered. Without insurance, you can’t legally drive.
It is a must you learn as much as you can about the regulations surrounding Oklahoma car insurance, not just because it is a legal requirement, but also because it is an extremely important part of your driving life.
The average cost of car insurance in Oklahoma
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claims that the average person pays roughly $768.25 for car insurance in Oklahoma each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$443.88 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$290.08 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$197.45 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Oklahoma
The results of our case study indicate that a young driver in OK can have the following auto insurance premium averages:
- $1477.2 for state minimum coverage
- $2951.6 for basic full coverage
- $4184.8 for premium full coverage
Note that insurance companies take statistics into serious consideration when determining how much to charge their policyholders. History shows just how high the tendency of new and teen drivers are of getting into accidents and committing traffic violations. Because of this, young drivers, in general, face higher costs.
Female Drivers in Oklahoma
A female driver can expect any of these as her yearly premium averages:
- $750 for state minimum coverage
- $1405.2 for basic full coverage
- $2082.8 for premium full coverage
Since women can get auto insurance at quite a low cost, many of them can easily fit in an upgrade to their budget. Always keep in mind that the more robust the coverage, the greater number of perils included, thus; the better protection it offers.
Senior Drivers in Oklahoma
Typically, once a person turns the age of 65, premiums go up again. However, we found that they can actually pay less than female drivers. Here’s what a senior driver can expect to pay as yearly premium averages:
- $710.4 for state minimum coverage
- $1275.2 for basic full coverage
- $1814.4 for premium full coverage
Older adults who strive hard to maintain a clean driving record can even enjoy premiums lower than the above-listed averages. Our methodology suggests that the longer a person’s driving history is, the better their premiums. There are still several factors for consideration though, such as gender, type of vehicle, and specific location among several others.
Minimum car insurance requirements
To ensure you remain in compliance with the various auto insurance laws implemented in OK, you have to obtain, at the very least, liability insurance coverage minimums.
As long as you carry the mandatory liability coverage, you can depend on your insurance company to help you pay for costs incurred due to a road accident you caused. This may take the form of bodily injury or damage to the property of others. In order for you to receive this assistance though, make sure you maintain the following minimums: $25,000/person bodily injury coverage, $50,000/accident total bodily injury/death (for accidents involving more than one victim) coverage, and $25,000/accident property damage coverage.
While the state laws only require you to purchase and maintain liability insurance, you might find it lacking, especially since a road traffic accident will also most likely render you injured. There is also a great possibility of your motor vehicle sustaining damages. This is why you should consider the other optional types of coverage offered by Oklahoma car insurance companies, such as the collision and medical payments coverage. Comprehensive and uninsured motorist coverage are the other two types of non-mandatory insurance coverage in the state.
Violations and Penalties
Get caught operating a motor vehicle in OK and you will receive a fine of up to $250. You may also face jail time of up to 30 days. The authorities will also suspend your license; the length of time depends on how soon you can provide them with proof of the insurance requirements. Before you can have the suspension lifted, you would also have to pay a fee of up to $275. The law enforcement officer who issued you with the violation may also seize your motor vehicle as well as have it towed and impounded.
Driving safety in Oklahoma
Oklahoma has a lower than national average rating when it comes to the number of drivers and front-seat passengers using seatbelts. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) said that only 84% of these people do, compared with the country’s median of 86%.
A 2015 National Highway Safety Administration assessment further showed that 643 driving fatalities occurred during that year in the state. 27% of it (170 cases) happened because of alcohol-impaired driving.
Because of this, the CDC rated the total vehicle occupant death in OK as 14.3 per 100,000 residents.
Complying with all of the Oklahoma car insurance laws should make it to your list of top priorities as a motorist, not just because it is a requirement, but also because you want to remain protected against legal liabilities. To learn more, read this.