Last Updated on September 29, 2020 by Andrew Lee
Before you can even have your motor vehicle registered in the State of Oregon, you first need to purchase the minimum required auto insurance coverage. Failure to show proof of insurance will only result in an unsuccessful registration application.
The average cost of car insurance in Oregon
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claim that the average person pays roughly $783.46 for car insurance in Oregon each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$562.95 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$206.78 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$86.53 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Oregon
With our case study’s methodology, we determined that a young driver in OR can expect the following premium averages per year:
- $1915.6 for state minimum coverage
- $3020 for basic full coverage
- $3959.2 for premium full coverage
A major factor that contributes to this high auto insurance cost for new and teen drivers is their inexperience. Statistically, this specific type of driver has shown to have a high likelihood of getting involved in road accidents, because they often choose flashier, faster vehicles. They also tend to belong in the group of motorists who don’t use seat belts. These make them high-risk in the eyes of insurers thus their expensive premiums.
Female Drivers in Oregon
A female driver can expect to pay a yearly premium average of:
- $852 for state minimum coverage
- $1218 for basic full coverage
- $1580 for premium full coverage
Using this data we’ve gathered, we found that women can have premiums amounting to hundreds of dollars less than young drivers. Because female drivers are less likely to get into accidents and they put safety first when choosing a vehicle, they can enjoy affordable rates on their insurance.
Senior Drivers in Oregon
In general, auto insurance costs go up once again for older adults. A senior driver can expect to pay an average of:
- $779.6 for state minimum coverage
- $1107.2 for basic full coverage
- $1435.6 for premium full coverage
These numbers show that this group of people can see a very small increase on their premiums. However, they can actually spend less than women, on average. Also, qualifying for money-saving programs, such as the discount for completing a defensive driving course, can further lower their costs.
Minimum car insurance requirements
In Oregon, motor vehicle insurance laws require each driver to carry four different types of coverage. These include bodily injury liability, property damage liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist coverage. You also have to meet the mandatory minimums for each type.
Bodily injury liability and property damage liability, collectively and simply known as liability insurance, helps cover road-accident-related expenses for bodily injury and property damage you have caused. Remaining in compliance with state laws means purchasing and maintaining the following coverage minimums: $25,000/person for bodily injury, $50,000/accident total bodily injury (for accidents involving more than one victim), and $25,000/accident property damage.
Although OR is not one of the 12 no-fault states in the country, you still need to obtain and maintain Personal Injury Protection coverage. This part of your policy helps cover your own (and the passengers of your car) medical expenses. As long as you have the required minimums for this coverage, you will receive financial assistance for up to one year within the date of the accident. You need to purchase at least a $15,000 coverage/person for your PIP.
Because there are still quite a number of uninsured/underinsured motorists in Oregon, your policy should also include the uninsured motorist coverage. This serves as your protection against expenses related to bodily injury in the event you get involved in an accident with a driver who either doesn’t have insurance or who has insufficient coverage. Get, at the very least, $25,000/person and $50,000/crash to satisfy the state laws.
There are several other types of coverage that you may want to include in your policy. The optional ones include comprehensive coverage, collision coverage, Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP) coverage, rental reimbursement coverage, and underinsured motorist property damage coverage.
Driving safety in Oregon
Almost all motorists and front-seat passengers wear seatbelts in Oregon, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). It reported that 97% – much higher than the national average of 86% – of them use these protective gears.
The National Highway Safety Administration also provided the following driving safety facts in the state: 447 driving fatalities occurred in 2015, with 155 of them caused by alcohol-impaired driving.
This has led to the CDC rating the overall vehicle occupant death in OR as 5.1 per 100,000 residents.
Because it is the responsible and ethical thing to do, you should always carry with you the necessary Oregon car insurance coverage. This way, you don’t have to worry about getting into trouble with the law, while also having peace of mind knowing that you will receive financial assistance in the event that you get involved in a road accident.