Last Updated on September 29, 2020 by Andrew Lee
Liability insurance is a must-have for drivers of almost all the states in the country, including Utah. Almost all of the states in the country require their drivers to maintain at least the basic liability insurance coverage and Utah is no exception. In short, when you don’t have a policy, you can’t drive legally.
You need to always carry the proper Utah car insurance coverage, or you will end up having to pay not just hefty fines, but also potentially high costs associated with medical fees or property damage repairs after an accident.
Average cost of car insurance in Utah
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claim that the average person pays roughly $733.55 for car insurance in Utah each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$465.64 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$248.39 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$106.91 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Utah
- $1426.4 for state minimum coverage
- $2602.8 for basic full coverage
- $3377.2 for premium full coverage
Fortunately, there are several ways to cut back on these expenditures. A good example is the successful completion of a driving course.
Female Drivers in Utah
A female driver who meets the criteria of our case study’s methodology can have a premium average of:
- $653.6 for state minimum coverage
- $1085.2 for basic full coverage
- $1430 for premium full coverage
We found that women can spend a much smaller amount of money towards their insurance than young drivers. Statistically, women have shown to commit fewer traffic violations and driving mistakes. Because of this, they can spend as little as $28 per month.
Senior Drivers in Utah
Our study showed that on average, senior drivers may have to start paying more towards their premiums than they did before they turned 65 years old. Older adults can expect to pay premiums averaging at:
- $694 for state minimum coverage
- $1154.8 for basic full coverage
- $1518.4 for premium full coverage
Typically, the bigger the city one lives in, the better the premiums. For instance, there’s the city of West Jordan, one of Salt Lake County’s quickly growing areas with a population of 111,946 (2015, latest data). Here, a senior driver can have a premium of as low as $22 a month.
Minimum car insurance requirements
The State of Utah implements quite rigorous laws when it comes to insuring automobiles. Even non-residents who will stay in the state for more than 90 days and would like to use their vehicles will have to obtain an insurance policy from one of Utah’s accredited insurers.
One of the primary components your policy should consist of is liability coverage. This will provide you with financial aid in the event that you have caused an accident and it resulted in people sustaining injuries and/or their properties getting damaged. The state laws mandate all motorists to carry at the very least, these coverage minimums: $25,000/person/accident for bodily injury coverage, $65,000/accident for total bodily injury (for road traffic incidents resulting in more than one victim) coverage, and $15,000/accident for property damage coverage. Your other option is to maintain an $80,000 total for both bodily injury and property damage coverage.
Utah is one of the 12 states that enforce the no-fault law. In the world of auto insurance, this means that regardless of who caused the road traffic accident, the insured individual will receive financial assistance for medical expenses. You need to keep your policy up-to-date with this coverage that has a minimum of $3,000. In case the costs go beyond what your insurer covers you for, you have the choice to file a case against the party at fault.
A lot of the state’s residents opt to have a more extensive policy since they understand the risks associated with driving. Because you can never predict whether or not you will get involved in an accident, it makes complete sense to have robust insurance. Aside from the two required types of coverage discussed above, you should consider purchasing collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage, rental car coverage, and roadside assistance coverage.
Driving safety in Utah
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), only 82% of Utah drivers and front-seat passengers use their protective seatbelts. The national average is 86%.
In 2015, 276 driving casualties occurred in the state, as the National Highway Safety Administration reported. Out of this number, 43 (16%) were due to alcohol-impaired driving.
The CDC said that the overall vehicle occupant death rate in the state is at 5.5 per 100,000 residents.
As a driver, you should have a Utah car insurance policy not just because the state laws tell you to, but also because you want to protect yourself. Besides, you should also want to make sure you can take responsibility for an accident that you may cause while driving.