Last Updated on September 29, 2020 by Andrew Lee
As a resident of and driver in the State of Washington, you must comply with auto insurance laws. These laws provide you and other people on the road you encounter with financial protection. Drive without the mandatory Washington car insurance coverage, and you will find yourself facing penalties or even high out-of-pocket expenses for medical and property damage costs.
The average cost of car insurance in Washington
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claims that the average person pays roughly $838.30 for car insurance in Washington each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$569.42 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$243.50 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$101.12 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Washington
One of the factors that can make a significant difference in auto insurance premiums is the coverage level. Our case study suggests that a young driver in the Evergreen State can expect a yearly average of:
- $1691.6 for state minimum coverage
- $2683.2 for basic full coverage
- $3809.2 for premium full coverage
Those new to the road pay more than the more experienced motorists since they still lack experience. And the experience is big factor insurers use when determining how much to charge a client. New and teen drivers haven’t had enough time to hone their defensive driving skills, so they have lower chances of avoiding collisions and other accidents.
Female Drivers in Washington
Statistically, women put great importance on driving safety. This is why records show they infrequently get into accidents on the road. And since this makes them low-risk in the eyes of insurance companies, they can enjoy affordable premium averages of:
- $772 for state minimum coverage
- $1154.8 for basic full coverage
- $1552.8 for premium full coverage
Our methodology shows that women spend hundreds of dollars less than those belonging in the young driver category. Premiums still vary from individual to individual though, since there are other factors involved, such as driving record and age.
Senior Drivers in Washington
A senior driver in WA can expect to have a premium average of:
- $702.4 for state minimum coverage
- $1050 for basic full coverage
- $1404.8 for premium full coverage
Of the three types of drivers we studied, our case study showed that senior citizens can enjoy the lowest premiums.
Minimum car insurance requirements
Liability insurance is the only coverage the state requires its motorist to purchase. However, it does also obligate all motorists to keep their policies updated with the proper coverage minimums.
Liability insurance serves the function of giving you financial assistance for covering the costs of medical fees and property repair when you injure others or damage their property after a road traffic accident. As long as you maintain the required minimums, your insurer will provide you with the help you need. Make sure that your policy has the following: $25,000/person for bodily injury (or death) coverage minimum, $50,000/accident for total bodily injury/death (in case there are multiple victims) coverage minimum, and $10,000/accident for property damage coverage minimum.
Your policy will also feature the uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This covers your own expenses for both bodily injuries and property damages in case you get involved in an accident with a driver who doesn’t carry insurance or has insufficient coverage. The required coverage minimums include the following: $25,000/person/accident for bodily injury, $50,000/accident for total bodily injury (in case there is more than one victim), and $20,000/accident for property damage.
Most motorists choose to upgrade their policies though, seeing as a more robust one protects them better. In WA, your optional insurance coverage types include collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Violations and Penalties
In Washington, failure to abide by the auto insurance regulations will just result in you having to face penalties. When law enforcement officers catch you driving without the proper insurance coverage, you can expect them to charge you with a fine of up to $250. You would also need to pay some other fees amounting to $37. The authorities may also require you to complete community restitution.
Driving safety in Washington
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reported that 97% of Washington drivers and front-seat passengers wear their seatbelts. This is 11% higher than the national average of 86%.
The National Highway Safety Administration performed an assessment of alcohol impaired driving casualties in the state. In 2015, a total of 568 fatal driving cases occurred, 148 of which involve alcohol impaired motorists.
This number places the overall vehicle occupant death rate in WA at 3.9 per 100,000 residents, according to a separate study from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has reported.
There is no way for you to predict whether or not you will get involved in a road traffic accident. This is why you shouldn’t undermine the value of having sufficient Washington car insurance coverage. Learn more about car insurance by reading this article, Car Insurance: The Facts.