In West Virginia, driving without the proper auto insurance policy is a violation of the law. Anyone that is caught driving without proof of coverage will face serious consequences. Avoiding these penalties is just one of the many other good reasons you should purchase and maintain the right West Virginia car insurance policy. With this, you and the other people you share the roads with will receive protection in the event of a traffic accident.
Average cost of car insurance in West Virginia
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claim that the average person pays roughly $858.85 for car insurance in West Virginia each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$506.60 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$319.49 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$195.28 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in West Virginia
Our case study found that the Mountain State offers a young driver with the following yearly premium averages:
- $1162 for state minimum coverage1,
- $2608.8 for basic full coverage2 and
- $3600.4 for premium full coverage3.
Female Drivers in West Virginia
A female driver can expect to have yearly premiums averaging to:
- $480 for state minimum coverage,
- $1055.6 for basic full coverage and
- $1496.4 for premium full coverage.
In our case study, we found women can spend a lot less towards their premiums than young drivers. In fact, the expenditures of the former can reach an amount less than twice of what an inexperienced motorist can pay for. And this specific type of driver can cut insurance-related costs even further by choosing a vehicle equipped with the latest in safety technology.
Senior Drivers in West Virginia
With our methodology4, we found that a senior driver in WV can expect to pay a yearly premium average of:
- $431.6 for state minimum coverage,
- $922 for basic full coverage and
- $1320.4 for premium full coverage.
Our case study also showed that the city offering one of the lowest possible monthly premium average of just around $22 is Keyser, with an estimated population of 5,248 (2015, latest data5). This still depends on several other factors though, particularly age-related health problems, such as impaired vision and reduced cognitive functions.
Minimum car insurance requirements
There are two types of coverage you need to purchase as a law-abiding resident of and motorist in WV. These include liability insurance and uninsured motorist insurance. However, you should make sure that you have the required coverage minimums, or else penalties still await you.
For your liability insurance coverage, it should consist of the following coverage minimums: $25,000/person for bodily injury, $50,000/accident for total bodily injury (for accidents with more than just one victim), and $25,000/accident for property damage. As long as you have this, your insurer will provide you with financial assistance in paying for the costs associated with injuring someone or damaging someone else’s property after a road traffic accident.
Even though all drivers need to meet the state’s laws surrounding motor vehicle insurance in West Virginia, many of them still think law enforcers will not catch them. However, state officials can easily track such information through an online system. Aside from penalties, driving uninsured or underinsured and getting involved in an accident will also just lead to higher expenditures. This said, make certain your policy always have these minimums for uninsured coverage: $100,000 for bodily injury/ person, $300,000 for bodily injury/accident, and $50,000 for property damage.
You should also consider investing in some of the other available coverages for WV drivers. These include collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, medical payments coverage, towing and labor coverage, as well as underinsured motorist coverage.
Violations and Penalties
Anyone caught operating their motor vehicle without the proper automobile insurance coverage will face severe penalties. It depends on the number of times they have violated these written laws.
Initial fines range anywhere from $200 to $5,000. The authorities may also require offenders to serve jail time starting from 15 days up to one year. They will also take and suspend the motor vehicle registration and driver’s license of those caught violating these laws. Individual reinstatement fees apply for both of these documents as well.
Driving safety in West Virginia
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention released a report regarding the percentage of West Virginia drivers and front-seat passengers who wear their seatbelts. Compared to the national average of 86%, only 84% in the state use this particular protective gear.
The National Highway Safety Administration, on the other hand, assessed alcohol impaired driving fatalities in all of the states in the country. It found out that in 2015 alone, 268 driving casualties occurred in WV, and 27% (71 cases) were caused by alcohol impaired drivers.
This count puts the overall vehicle occupant death rate in West Virginia at 13.1 per 100,000 residents, according to another Centers for Disease Control and Prevention report.
If you want to know more about car insurance and its basic components, click this link. Since you cannot predict when you will get involved in a road traffic accident, it is a lot better to just follow the law and purchase the required West Virginia car insurance coverage.
|1||State minimum coverage includes the minimum liability insurance limits required in your state but excludes the following:
|2||Basic full coverage includes:
|3||Premium full coverage includes:
|4||Methodology: To achieve accurate results we obtained estimates for 10 cities in the state: 5 of the largest cities and 5 randomly picked smaller cities. For each city, we collected premiums for 3 levels of coverage: state minimum coverage, basic full coverage and premium full coverage. We used 3 different driver profiles for the case studies. For the young driver profile we used a 20-year-old single male or female with 1 year driving experience. Second, the profile fit that of a 35-year-old married female with 12 years of driving experience. The last profile we used in our studies is a male senior driver who was 68-year-old with 45 years of driving experience. The vehicle we used for all three driver profiles was a 2012 Honda Accord EX.|
|5||Latest data: The U.S. census is conducted every 10 years as per requirement of the United States Constitution. The 23rd edition and the latest data is the 2010 United States Census. Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_United_States_Census|