Wisconsin implements laws that require all of its residents who wish to operate their motor vehicle within the state to purchase certain automobile insurance coverage types and minimums.
Anyone that law enforcement officers catch in violation of any of these Wisconsin car insurance related regulations will have to deal with not only fines, but also potentially high out-of-pocket expenses, especially when they cause a major road traffic accident.
Average cost of car insurance in Wisconsin
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claim that the average person pays roughly $621.05 for car insurance in Wisconsin each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$354.56 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$207.71 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$127.49 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Wisconsin
Our methodology1 revealed that a young driver can expect a yearly premium average of:
- $965.2 for state minimum coverage2,
- $1914.8 for basic full coverage3 and
- $2809.2 for premium full coverage4.
Age has a big impact on car insurance premiums. We found that in almost all cases, new and teen drivers, regardless of the state they live in, have the highest rates. This is because statistically, they have shown the greatest tendency to get involved in unfortunate road incidents. Keep in mind that this is one of the primary factors insurance companies use to determine risk.
Female Drivers in Wisconsin
In WI, a female driver can expect yearly premiums to average at:
- $444 for state minimum coverage,
- $810 for basic full coverage and
- $1198 for premium full coverage.
Women can enjoy good premiums as long as they meet the various criteria that puts them at the low-risk category. Note though that a female driver who lives in Rhinelander, Oneida’s county seat, can enjoy one of the best possible premiums. This city, with an estimated population of 7,526 (2015, latest data5) offers women with a monthly premium of as low as $20.
Senior Drivers in Wisconsin
A senior driver can expect to pay only an average of:
- $419.6 for state minimum coverage,
- $738.4 for basic full coverage and
- $1074.4 for premium full coverage.
Generally, the cost of auto insurance goes up as soon as one turns 65 years old. This isn’t always the case in this state though. In fact, our case study found that one who belongs in this age bracket can have premiums lower than a young or a female driver.
Minimum car insurance requirements
Like several other states in the nation, Wisconsin drivers have to purchase and maintain two motor vehicle insurance coverage types: liability as well as uninsured and underinsured.
In order for you to receive financial protection in the event that you cause an accident on the road, your insurance policy should have the following liability coverage minimums: $25,000/person for bodily injury (or death), $50,000/accident for total bodily injury/death (for accidents that may result in more than just a single victim), and $10,000/accident for property damage.
Despite the written auto insurance laws in the State of Wisconsin, many motorists still don’t follow them. Getting into an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver may result in you having to pay for your medical-related expenses using your own money. You can protect yourself from such expenditures with the proper uninsured and underinsured coverage minimums: $25,000 for bodily injury/person and $50,000 for total bodily injury/accident.
Although having the above-mentioned minimums for each coverage type already means you can legally drive your motor vehicle, you should still consider making your policy for robust. You can do so through the purchase of any of these optional coverages: collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, medical payments coverage, towing and labor coverage, as well as rental reimbursement coverage.
Violations and Penalties
When you get caught operating your motor vehicle without the mandatory insurance coverage detailed above, the law enforcement officer will require you to pay for a fine. This penalty can go up to $500. You need to pay for this every time the authorities catch you driving without insurance.
Driving safety in Wisconsin
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention conducted a nationwide study about the percentage of drivers and front-seat passengers who wear their seatbelts. It revealed that the national average is at 86%. Compared to this, the State of Wisconsin has a lower count, as only 80% of these individuals use this protective gear.
The National Highway Safety Administration, has also performed it owns study. This one revolves around the subject of alcohol impaired driving fatalities that occurred in all of the states in the nation in 2015. It found out in WI, a total of 566 driving casualties took place. Out of this total count, 189 cases, accounting for 33%, were due to alcohol impaired driving.
This then places the total vehicle occupant death rate in the state at 7.4 per 100,000 residents, as a separate Centers for Disease Control and Prevention assessment reports.
There is no way for you to foresee when you might get involved in a road traffic accident. This is why you should always remain prepared as a motorist and you’re your Wisconsin car insurance policy up to date.
|1||Methodology: To achieve accurate results we obtained estimates for 10 cities in the state: 5 of the largest cities and 5 randomly picked smaller cities. For each city, we collected premiums for 3 levels of coverage: state minimum coverage, basic full coverage and premium full coverage. We used 3 different driver profiles for the case studies. For the young driver profile we used a 20-year-old single male or female with 1 year driving experience. Second, the profile fit that of a 35-year-old married female with 12 years of driving experience. The last profile we used in our studies is a male senior driver who was 68-year-old with 45 years of driving experience. The vehicle we used for all three driver profiles was a 2012 Honda Accord EX.|
|2||State minimum coverage includes the minimum liability insurance limits required in your state but excludes the following:
|3||Basic full coverage includes:
|4||Premium full coverage includes:
|5||Latest data: The U.S. census is conducted every 10 years as per requirement of the United States Constitution. The 23rd edition and the latest data is the 2010 United States Census. Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_United_States_Census|