Last Updated on September 29, 2020 by Andrew LeeThe State of Wyoming has laws that require motorists to show proof of financial responsibility before they can even have their vehicles registered. This requirement proves a driver’s ability to pay for any potential expense that arises from causing a road traffic accident. Because of these regulations, most residents of the state just choose to purchase and maintain the proper Wyoming car insurance coverage.Average cost of car insurance in Wyoming
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) claim that the average person pays roughly $639.71 for car insurance in Wyoming each year.
They broke this figure down to:
$323.34 is the average annual liability insurance expenditure.
$260.15 is the average annual collision insurance expenditure.
$220.969 is the average annual comprehensive insurance expenditure.
Young Drivers in Wyoming
Our study found that a young driver can pay an annual premium average of:
- $664 for state minimum coverage
- $2620 for basic full coverage
- $4118 for premium full coverage
These people often make the highest payments towards their auto insurance because statistically, they are the greatest contributors to the significant number of collisions and traffic violation cases. This said, implementing safe driving practices will help them cut back on their costs.
Female Drivers in Wyoming
Our case study found that a female driver in WY can have a premium average of:
- $334.4 for state minimum coverage
- $1083.6 for basic full coverage
- ]$1734.8 for premium full coverage
Our methodology found that insurers also determine premiums based on the type of vehicle one will insure. The greater the number of and the more innovative the safety features are, the higher the chances a female driver has of having lower car insurance expenses.
Senior Drivers in Wyoming
We found that of all three types of motorists, senior drivers can enjoy the best possible rates. In other words, they can have the lowest premiums. According to our study, a senior driver can expect to pay only an average of:
- $325.6 for state minimum coverage
- $1002.8 for basic full coverage
- $1610.4 for premium full coverage
Individual quotes still depend on a myriad of other variables, such as driving record, claims history, and specific location. In general, the bigger the city of residence, the better the premiums.
Minimum car insurance requirements
Similar to the motor vehicle insurance related laws of other states in the country, WY also requires its drivers to carry two types of coverage. These include liability car insurance and uninsured motorist insurance.
In case you choose to purchase a car insurance policy to meet the aforementioned laws of the state, make sure it has the mandatory minimums for liability insurance. Your insurer will help pay for the costs associated with injuries to other people or rendering their properties damaged after a road traffic accident you caused. These are the required minimums for this particular type of coverage: $25,000/person for bodily injury (or death), $50,000/accident for total bodily injury/death (in the event that the accident resulted in more than just one victim), and $20,000/accident for property damage.
Many drivers still don’t carry insurance even though the State of Wyoming requires them to. This is why WY mandates all car insurance policy holders to have uninsured motorist coverage. The coverage minimums are the same as those required for liability insurance.
Although you already fulfill the state’s insurance laws when you have and maintain these minimums, you do have the option to upgrade your policy. You can do so through the purchase of the other optional coverage types offered to Wyoming motorists. These include the following: collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, medical payments coverage, towing coverage, as well as rental reimbursement coverage.
Learn more about car insurance by reading this article, Car Insurance: The Facts.
Violations and Penalties
When the authorities catches you driving your car without the state-mandated auto insurance coverage, they will penalize you. Fines can range anywhere from $250 to $1,500. You may also have to face jail time. You also have to obtain and maintain proof of financial responsibility. For subsequent violations, all these apply, together with the suspension of your motor vehicle registration and the impoundment of your car’s plates.
Driving safety in Wyoming
In a nationwide study conducted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, it reported that only 77% of drivers and front-seat passengers in Wyoming wear their seatbelts. This is 9% lower than the 86% national average.
Another nationwide report from the National Highway Safety Administration listed the total number of driving casualties in WY that happened in 2015 at 145. 56 cases, accounting for 38% of the total, were because of alcohol impaired driving.
This has resulted in the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention putting the total vehicle occupant death rate in the state at 17.5 per 100,000 residents.
As you can see, meeting the Wyoming car insurance laws will help you keep hefty fines and expenses at bay, especially when you cause a road traffic accident. And to give you even more protection, you should think about updating your policy to include some of the optional types of coverage.